Mail · Site Map · Contacts 中文 · English  
 ◎ NUDT >> Colleges & Departments >> College of Computer >> 
College of Computer

Updated:2010-6-28 15:56:14  Clicks:62929

Founded in 1958 the College of Computer Science consists of the following: a Department of Computer Science and Technology; a Department of Network Engineering; the Computer Institute; the Software Institute; the Institute of Microelectronics and Microprocessors; the Institute of Network and Information Security; the National Key Laboratory of Parallel and Distributed Processing; and, the Yinhe Computer Factory.

The College offers eight [8] second-category discipline PhDs and nine [9] second-category discipline Masters degrees. It has five [5] first-category disciplines and ninety two [92] second-category. The College’s Computer Science and Technology program has been ranked first in the nation [2002] and second [2006] by the Center for National Degree and Graduate Education Development. Computer System Architecture is among the first National Key Disciplines. This is followed by Computer Software and Theory and Computer Application Technology. Computer Science and Technology is one of the first National first-class Key Disciplines. Microelectronics and Solid State Electronics is a National Key Development discipline. It has six National Benchmark Courses: Computer System Architecture, Software Engineering, Principles of Compiling, Computer Network, Principles of Computer Systems, and Operating Systems.

In the last five years [2005-2010] it has been awarded a special award, two first prizes, and a second prize for National Teaching Achievement. Its academic publications have won the following prizes: Cutting-Edge Research in the Field of Computers--first prize for National Excellent Books; Principles of Compiling--first prize for National Excellent Textbooks and Parallel Algorithms—the 7th China Book Prize.

There are more than 800 faculty members. These faculty include: one CAS (Chinese Academy of Science) member and one CAE (Chinese Academy of Engineering) member. Two hundred of the faculty hold senior professional titles. There are more than 40 [post-] PhD supervisors. There are more than 100 [post-] Master degree supervisors. More than 150 are PhDs. Nearly 300 have both a PhD and Master degree. There are three [3] Ho Leung Ho Lee Award winners and 10 National Young and Middle-Aged Experts with Outstanding Contributions award-winners. Sixty hold special government allowances. Six are members of the National Hundred, Thousand and Ten Thousand Talent Project. Four are China Youth Science and Technology Award winners. Four are winners of National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars. Two are National Eminent Teachers. One is a National Excellent Key Teacher of Higher Education. Four won the Qiushi Award. Three have National 100 Excellent Doctoral Dissertation awards. Two were given the MOE’s Trans-Century Excellent Researcher Award. Five belong to the MOE’s New Century Excellent Researcher Award Program. Ten have won the National Young and Middle-Aged Experts with Outstanding Contributions award. More than 30 have served in major academic institutions of China, such as the Disciplinary Consulting Panel of the National Degrees Committee, the Education Steering Committee of the MOE, the National Natural Science Founds Projects, the National 973 Plan (National Key Basic Research Development Plan), the National 863 Plan (National Advanced Technological and Research Plan) and others.

The college has two national scientific and technological innovation teams: one in high-performance computing, and the other in high-performance microprocessors. The Computer Science and Technology Specialized Course is a national teaching team. Since 2004 the 985 Project of the MOE has provided support to develop the High Performance Computing Technology Innovation Platform and the Microelectronics Technology Innovation Platform. In 2006, the High Performance Computing Team won research funding from the National Natural Science Foundation of China.

The College has gradually formed a pattern of development led by high-performance computing and coordinated by key research areas such as Large-scale Integrated Circuit Design, Network and Communication, Independent Security Infrastructure Software, Information Security and Network Attack-counterattack. The Yinhe series supercomputer, FT series microprocessor, DSP chips, Pier core router and Kylin operating systems are evidence of the College’s excellence. It has won more than 500 prizes which include the third place in the Ministerial Scientific and Technological Progress awards: 82 first and 151 second place prizes; a special award for national defense scientific and technological achievements; a second prize in the National Invention Awards; and six first prizes and 13 second prizes in the National Scientific and Technological Progress Awards.


National University of Defense Technology
Copyright 1999-2017  © All Rights Reserved:NUDT
Tel:(0731)84575601    Web Service Tel:84573000
Website Establishment:Education Technology Center of Information Center